Committee on Delegated County Legislation

Whenever a statutory instrument is submitted to the County Assembly pursuant the Constitution, any law or these Standing Orders, the statutory instrument shall, unless a contrary intention appears in the relevant legislation, be laid before the County Assembly by the Chair of the relevant Sectoral Committee, or any other member and shall thereafter stand referred to the Committee on Delegated County Legislation.

The committee shall consider in respect of any statutory instrument whether it-

  1. Is in accord with the provisions of the constitution, the act pursuant to which it is made or other relevant written law;
  2. Infringes on fundamental rights and freedoms of the public;
  3. Contains a matter which in the opinion of the Committee should more properly be dealt with in an act of the County Assembly;
  4. Contains imposition of taxation;
  5. Direct or indirect bars the jurisdiction of the courts;
  6. Gives retrospective effect to any of the provisions in respect of which The Constitution or the Act does not expressly give any such power;
  7. Involves expenditure from the County Revenue Fund or other public revenues;
  8. Is defective in its drafting or for any reason the form or purport of the Statutory instrument calls for any elucidation;
  9. Appears to make some unusual or unexpected use of the powers conferred by the Constitution or the Act pursuant to which it is made;
  10. Appears to have had unjustifiable delay in its publication or laying before County Assembly;
  11. Makes rights, liberties or obligations unduly dependent upon non-reviewable decision;
  12. Makes rights, liberties or obligations unduly dependent insufficiently defined administration powers;
  13. Inappropriately delegates legislative power;
  14. Imposes a fine, imprisonment or other penalty without express authority having been provided for in the enabling legislation;
  15. Appears for any reason to infringe on the rule of Law;
  16. Inadequately subjects the exercise of legislative power to County Assembly scrutiny;
  17. Accords to any other reason that the Committee considers fit to examine.

1.               Hon. Anastacia Wakesho, MCA, Member

2.               Hon. Joyce Mwangoji, MCA, Member

3.               Hon. Newton Kifuso, MCA, Member

4.               Hon. Frank Mmare, MCA, Member

5.               Hon. Anselim Mwadime, MCA, Member

6.               Hon. Abednego Mwanjala, MCA, Member

7.               Hon. Martha Kenio, MCA, Member

8.               Hon. Godfrey Mwambi, MCA, Member

9.               Hon. Christopher Mwambingu, MCA, Member

10.            Hon. Paul Waweru, MCA, Member

11.            Hon. Jackson Mwagharo, MCA, Member

12.            Hon. Beatrice Mkanyika, MCA, Member

13.            Hon. Bertina Mwaiseghe, MCA, Member


Find us on Facebook

Stuff We Do Best

Representation of the People 100%


Legislative Mandate 100%


Oversight Authority 100%



  This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
+254(0) 718 703 359 / 0732 604 811
P.O. Box 1066 - 80304

     Wundanyi, Kenya
Taita Taveta County Assembly

Keep in Touch